Stepping Back

Stepping back…
Into the screaming white wasteland.
I will coat the walls in blood,
I will breathe life
Into spiny, thorny creatures,
With yellow eyes, and bloody claws, and teeth…
So many teeth…
Like needles.
I will give life to these things
That they will not need mine.

These endless spaces,
containing a vastness of nothing,
Like no other, save maybe
Outer space…
These spaces were once all I was;
Countless worlds, and ways,
and heroines, and monsters…
Oh, such monsters…

But I was devoid of the horrors within,
myself
Because of it…

But then the land went sour,
And the air became thick with toxins,
And all my heroines died,
And my monsters vowed vengence upon my heart,
Someday…
And they climbed deep into my soul,
And went to sleep,
Because I was too strong, then,
For them to do anything else…

And as their irisless eyes close, finally,
The lasg thing any of them wanted…
Was to undo,me…

I thought they were gone… Living
As they wished in the places I made,
Having long forgotten me, or my words…
My face, and how sweet my fear tasted…

And then…
then years passed with nary a sign…
Not a shed hair, not a claw clipping,
No, teeth marks, in my nerves…

Until one day,
It began to snow…
The sun vanished, and though the seasons changed…
My heart was frozen ever after…

After that…
After that came the madness…
The creatures woke up,
And had a full blown mutiny…

And,they have driven me back…
Back…
To this expanse of endless barren nothing…

And either I make them a new world…
And give them something to strive against….
Or they will run me into the ground….
As hard, and horrifically, as they can.

And they can…
They showed me that much…
They can, indeed…

And, lest I perish….
I will create…..

Leave a Reply

