Flight of the Illuminated Willow, Sonnet No. 3, For David

Flight of the Illuminated Willow, Sonnet No. 3

Spenserian

Nothing in this world can yet describe here,

the feeling, when I touch you in the night.

Nothing of this world dares try to fly here,

lest all their wings catch fire, by your light.

As soon as fingers touch you, I am bright.

The deepest seas could not extinguish me.

Illuminated from dark, as moonlight;

no other light could match the light of ‘We’

I wonder if inside, if you can see

how you changed, every piece of world I knew.

I river, and you, roots of willow tree.

Together, out growth can be only, True.

What has happened to me, has no name here.

You have happened to me. Oh, say you’ll stay here?

Leave a Reply

